163

Dreamcast.com is a Scam!

Ameer | March 11, 2008 | News | Dreamcast Company Misc 
As reported earlier here at GameGrep, Dreamcast.com has been asking Dreamcast owners whether they do own the console, and register for a Dreamcast email address tied to the Gmail account you specify. Many people believed it to be tied to the console's 10th anniversary. Unfortunately for those who already have submitted their emails, Sega no longer owns the domain, which means that this site is an attempt to phish your Gmail account. DO NOT SUBMIT YOUR PERSONAL DETAILS TO DREAMCAST.COM.
"Do you still own a Dreamcast?" asks dreamcast.com. By all appearances, the supposed official site of Sega's cherished console has received a legitimate update, exciting loyalists that have been anticipating the system's 10-year anniversary later this year. By clicking on the question, visitors are prompted to accept a user agreement for an @user.dreamcast.com email account (apparently tied to Gmail). Applicants must supply a console serial number, email address, and password before being granted a [serial number]@dreamcast.com Gmail address.

News Story attached to:
9 comments | go to source (www.joystiq.com) | send to friend
Related Articles
68 Wii Fit scam prompts police investigation (5)comments June 29, 2008
138 Video Game Scam: Buy, repackage, return, sell = money (15)comments April 26, 2008
Register as a member to subscribe comments.

Comments with -5 or lower "thumbs" are removed from display.

  • 0 thumbs!
    Ameer | March 11, 2008
    Surprised Sega didn't retain the domain, to stop things like this happening. I thought it was common sense that a scam could be pulled using it.
  • 0 thumbs!
    ShinyMilotic | March 11, 2008
    I agree, they really should have kept the domain, I bet a lot of people have already sent in their emails...
  • 2 thumbs!
    BANDITO ATTACK | March 11, 2008
    lol @ the dreamcast jackasses who did this
  • 0 thumbs!
    Dine_Agoti | March 11, 2008
    Hahaha. Oh man, that's pro.

    I almost signed up, too...
  • 0 thumbs!
    Xenctuary | March 11, 2008
    SEGA could have given me the domain name if they didn't want to keep it. Way to look after your intellectual properties!
  • 0 thumbs!
    devil link | March 11, 2008
    Lol wow an Email adress.. I have 2 of those!
  • 0 thumbs!
    Capn Droid | March 12, 2008
    Clever ruse, to be honest. Perfect timing.
  • 0 thumbs!
    The Primagen | March 12, 2008
    xD at devil links comment.
  • 0 thumbs!
    RikuNova | March 13, 2008
    Phew...I'm just glad I didn't sign up...

    And yeah, this is a clever trick by the ****** who did this.

This news story is archived and is closed to comments now.

Submit Newshelp

Recent Forum Threads

Top Contributors

This Month
Gothic Girl 358 pts
chautemoc 262 pts
Deathsythe 213 pts
Silver Mir.. 154 pts
Tyranitar24 115 pts
Akira_EX 112 pts
Coltrain 74 pts
bbb7002004 69 pts
Agrias 50 pts
All-Time
Gothic Girl 14617 pts
Krunal 11813 pts
Linkin Par.. 9920 pts
Final Blade 8638 pts
xsynergyx 8079 pts
mistermostyn 7868 pts
Silver Mir.. 7340 pts
chautemoc 6714 pts
ITANI 6350 pts
Storm 5633 pts

Stats

Today
Published News: 34
Comments: 159
Points Given: 411
Users Registered: 0
This Month
Published News: 114
Comments: 768
Points Given: 1721
Users Registered: 5
All Time
Published News: 9793
Comments: 65142
Points Given: 156570
Users Registered: 480

Conventions / Trade Shows

(0.5846/d/aeon)